30 Cars to Sell to Make $99,000 in 6 Months

The $99k Report details how a student of the Auto Dealer Business School made $99,000 in 6 months and you can too. You see the exact cars he bought and sold. The best part....he started with $1500.

How to Get an Auto Dealer License in North Carolina (NC)

We’ll show you everything you need to know about getting your used car dealer license in NC.

Find a location
Incorporate your business
Apply even with Felony Convictions
and lots more..

Watch the Video!


Get Your Dealer License in North Carolina

Step 1: Pre-licensing Course 

Before applying for your used motor vehicle dealer license, you must complete a 12-hour licensing course approved by the DMV. Information on approved courses can be found by clicking on this highlighted text.

Step 2: Location - (need 1st and last month usually)

Your location must have the following requirements:

  • An established salesroom (requirments in link) with at least 96 sq ft of floor space (excluding wholesalers)
  • For wholesalers only: An established office (requirements in link) with at least 96 sq ft of floor space
  • A sign that has letters of at least three inches in height

Note: Be sure the location is in compliance with all state, county and municipal zoning regulations and ordinances before signing the lease agreement.

To find a location, resources include the commercial real estate section on Craigslist, real estate agents experienced in commercial property & zoning and other auto dealers. Here is how you find out where other dealers have leased space.

Step 1: Search cars for sale on Craigslist by dealers.

Step 2: Take the phone number from the Craigslist listing and search it on the internet.

Step 3: Take the address of the dealer and search to find the office complex or warehouse that allows auto dealers.

Step 4: Last step is to contact the landlord for any vacancies.


Step 3: Bond - $50,000

I describe a Bond as an insurance policy for your customers. You only pay a percentage of the Bond amount. That percentage is based on your credit score with the most favorable rates for those with 680 score or higher in my experience. 

The bond requirement is $50,000 for the 1st established showroom and $25,000 for each additional.

Step 4: Liability Insurance

You must maintain Garage liability insurance. The details were not immediately clear. Ask at the dealer training. The application needs the following:

  • Policy number
  • The Provider

Step 5: Incorporation & EIN 

  • An assumed business name must be filed with the Register of Deeds in the county where the business is maintained, if the business will be operated under any name different from the owner/s
  • If the business will be conducted as a corporation, you need to file articles of incorporation with the North Carolina Secretary of State. The state fee for articles of incorporation is $125
  • A Trader’s License from the municipality and county must be obtained before filing your application

To apply for your Employer Identification Number (EIN), visit the IRS website. It's FREE to apply.

 You may need these numbers: NAICS Code for Used Car Dealers 441120 and SIC Code 5521.

Step 6: Schedule Business Inspection

All dealer locations must be inspected and approved by an agent of the License and Theft Bureau before your application is submitted. Ask for details at the dealer training.

Step 7: Submit Your Application

Fill out the application form and pay the fees:

  • $90.00 for each place of business
  • $36.00 per plate for the first five plates
  • $18.00 per plate for additional plates
  • $18.00 per dealer transporter plate
  • $25.00 for 25 temporary markers

Send your completed application to:

North Carolina Department of Transportation
Division of Motor Vehicles
License and Theft Bureau
Raleigh, NC 27697-0001


Step 8: Get a Mentor! The learning curve is 2 years. Take the shortcut and be profitable faster.

You can have knowledge and experience at your side to give you that 20/20 hindsight vision. Go to the Auto Dealer Business School to learn how you can level up with a mentor.

NOTE: If any links give you trouble, report them to me...lol.. Email me at [email protected]


Kendra is an Auto Dealer in Georgia. She is a member of the Auto Dealer Business School.


Christian is an Auto Dealer in California. He is a member of the Auto Dealer Business School.


Ira is an Auto Dealer Apprentice in New Jersey. He is a member of the Auto Dealer Business School.

Auto Dealer CEO Strategies Group

This group is dedicated to CEO strategies for Auto Dealers and Aspiring Auto Dealers. Get support with anything for your business from Licensing to Staffing!


50% Complete

Two Step

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.